27th Annual Caxton Excellence Awards

Nathi performs on the Nelson Mandela stage at Joburg Theatre during the Caxton Excellence Awards.

Guests from all over the country attended the event kitted out with the theme “Fantastical 2015”. Sharlene Surtie Richards was the MC for the night, which saw performances from SAMA winners Nathi and Desmond and the Tutus as well as acrobatic performers, contortionists and aerial dancers.

Here are some of the fantastical pictures from the evening:

Here are all the winners of this year’s Caxton Excellence Awards:

Switchboard Operator of the Year  Elizabeth Madonsela –Joburg South
Credit Controller of the Year – Lindi Maroos – Middelburg Observer
Ad Designer of the Year – Louis van Niekerk –  Joburg East/South Branch
Best Designed and Written Small-Sized Advertisement – Janett Zaayman, Ilda Dalton & Carmen Fletcher – Ridge Times
Best Designed and Written Large-Sized Advertisement – Monessa Holtzhausen – Bloemfontein Courant 
Best Designed and Written Magazine-Format Medium Advertisement – Geraldine Scott – Get It – JHB West
Best Designed and Written Magazine-Format Large Advertisement – Jolandi Bezuidenhout – Mahareng Publishing
Best Written & Designed Advertorial/Promotion – Ciska Kay – Get It – Lowveld
Best Regular Pull-Out Supplement/ Feature or Publication – Irma Green, Petro Kotze, Rene De Klerk, Mirelle Jacobs, Colletha Noppe & Graham Sinclair – Sanparks Times
Best Overall Promotion of a Publication – Tobie van den Bergh, Gerhard Rheeder – Middelburg Observer
Best Original Idea – Yolande Veldman – Zululand Observer
The Caxton/Citizen News Service Best Contribution – Marizka Coetzer – Krugersdorp
Best Headline Writing – Mark Kinnear – Lowvelder
Best Regular Column – Bevis Fairbrother – South Coast Herald
Best Sport Writing – Ettienne van Rensburg – Vaalweekblad
Best Investigative Reporting – Nicolene  Smalman, Stefen de Villiers, Lia van Zyl and Thobile Mlangeni – Lowvelder  
Best Free Newspaper, pagination less than 20– Mireille De Villiers – Nelspruit Post
Best Free Newspaper, pagination 20 and more – Robyn Scott  – Highway Mail
Best Sold Newspaper, circulation less than 8000 – Rod Skinner – Ladysmith Gazette
Best Sold Newspaper, circulation 8000 and more – Colleen Haggard  – South Coast Herald
Special Awards
Best Major Advertising Feature/Supplement – Sabine Goodwin,Sunette Visser & Julie Murray – Rekord East, CenturionMoot and North
Managers of the Year – Karen Geurtse (Metro Manager) – Capital Newspapers
Bevis Fairbrother (Regional Manager) – South Coast Herald
Best Portrait Photograph – Hugo Redelinghuys – George Herald 
Best Feature Photograph – Amy Jenkins – Zululand Observer 
Best Hard News Photograph – Jannie du Plessis – Vaalweekblad 
Best Sport Photograph – Hugo Redelinghuys – George Herald
Photographer of the Year – Jannie du Plessis  – Vaalweekblad
Most Promising Newspaper Journalist of the Year – Kristian Meijer – Rekord Pretoria
Multimedia Storyteller of the Year – Zsaraeva Nel & Gerhard Rheeder – Middelburg Observer
Best Website Presence of the Year – Corné van Zyl  – Rekord Centurion
Home Page Takeover of the Year – Wannita Smith and Mpilo Msweli – Zululand Observer
Best Get It Magazine – Ciska Kay – Lowveld
Get It Journalist of the Year – Genevieve Beyleveld  – Get It Joburg North
Telesales person of the Year – Daisy Mohan  – Highway Mail
Field Salesperson of the Year – Julie Murray – Capital Media – Rekord
Newspaper Journalist of the Year – Daleen Naudé – Middelburg Observer

Caxton Central

Latest News