Alberton Athletics Club well represented at Comrades

TWENTY BIG ONES: Glyn Rynhoud completing his 20th Comrades Marathon. Photo: Logan Green.

ALBERTON Athletics Club had 36 members competing in the Comrades Marathon on June 4, with 21 of them completing the gruelling race.

Three Alberton runners completed the race in under nine hours for the Bill Rowan medal: Michael Brandon-Kirby, Ernest du Toit and Glyn Rynhoud.

It was also Rynhoud’s 20th successful Comrades Marathon, bringing his medal count to eight silver, seven Bill Rowan and five bronze medals.

RUNNING STRONG: Mduduzi Maseko, the fifth athlete from the Alberton Athletics Club to finish.
Photo: Logan Green.

Alberton had six novices who completed the race successfully: Thomas Xaba, Neil Shraga, Mark Joubert, Talia da Silva, Leandro da Silva and Jose da Silva.

Du Toit was the most improved Alberton up runner, improving his previous up run time by three hours and eight minutes, while Mduduzi Maseko improved his previous up run time by one hour and 56 minutes.

The top 10 men from the club were: Michael Brandon-Kirby, Ernest du Toit, Glyn Rynhoud, Niel Cillie, Mduduzi Maseko, Gavin Roberts, Ian Kingon, Xaba, Grant Vogel and Koos Coetzee.

The three women finishers were: Charlotte Smith, Alida Sequeira and Talia da Silva.

For free daily local news in the south, visit our sister newspapers Alberton RecordComaro ChronicleSouthern Courier and Get it Joburg South Magazine.

Remember to visit our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages. You can also email our offices on [email protected][email protected] or [email protected]

Add us on WhatsApp today! Alberton Record: 060 644 5264 Comaro Chronicle: 079 427 8074 and Southern Courier: 079 404 5789.

David Pienaar

Latest News