Lions to host Craven Week

ACTION: Marais Viljoen players in action during a game against Noordheuwel.

THE Golden Lions Rugby Union, GLRU, will play host to the u-18 Craven Week at St Stithians College from July 17 to 22.

The GLRU have included nine players in their final u-18 Craven Week side who were part of the team that was in action in the main event against Western Province at the Craven Week in 2016.

They are Kennedy Mpeku, David Cary, Tinus Combrinck, PJ Jacobs, Mark Snyman, Cristen van Niekerk, Keegan Glade, Dameon Venter and Ntlabakanye Asanathi.

The team, coached by Carl Spilhaus (Jeppe High School for Boys), Reg Hammond (Jeppe High School for Boys) and Nkosi Mzwaki (King Edward VII) includes seven representatives from Monument High of Krugersdorp and King Edward VII. The team mananger is Adolf Ellis (Hoërskool Bekker).

Theunis Muller from Marais Viljoen will play in the Academy Week. Cha Deiker from Dinamika High and AJ Meyer from Marais Viljoen, will represent the province in the Academy Week XV.

The final teams are:

Coca-Cola Craven Week: 15 Kennedy Mpeku (King Edward VII), 14 David Cary (Helpmekaar), 13 Leon Mpeku (King Edward VII), 12 Yanga Hlalu (King Edward VII), 11 Tino Swanepoel (Florida), 10 Marc Morrison (King Edward VII), 9 Tinus Combrinck (Monument High), 8 Travis Gordon (King Edward VII), 7 PJ Jacobs (Monument), 6 Mark Snyman (Helpmekaar), 5 Stephan le Roux (Monument), 4 Cristen van Niekerk (Monument), 3 Keegan Glade (King Edward VII), 2 Morne Brandon (Monument), 1 Ruan Oosthuizen (Florida),16 Dameon Venter (Helpmekaar), 17 Nkosikhona Masuku (Parktown Boys’ High), 18 Ntlabakanye Asanathi (St Stithian’s College), 19 Kegan Litchfield (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 20 Franco Schutte (Monument), 21 Luke Rossouw (Monument), 22 Tyler Hayward (King Edward VII), 23 Muzi Manyike (Jeppe High School for Boys).

Academy Week: 15 Regan Willemse (Florida), 14 Llewellyn Ellis (Carletonville), 13 Jeremy Randell (Helpmekaar), 12 Boitumelo Tstsane (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 11 Tokolo Molotsi (King Edward VII), 10 Christiaan Humphries (Trinityhouse), 9 Justin Lambert (Noordheuwel), 8 Tawanda Mutuma (St Stithian’s College), 7 Tristan Dullisear (Monument), 6 Mpho Tjamela (Jeppe High School for Boys), 5 Anton Gerber (Monument), 4 Simao Dionisi (Parktown Boys’ High), 3 Eben Brand (Monument), 2 Darnell Osuagwu (Parktown), 1 Juandre van der Merwe (Florida), 16 Bandile Lekhuleni (KES), 17 Jason Cloete (King Edward VII), 18 Dandre Degenaar (Monument), 19 Theunis Muller (Marais Viljoen), 20 Jordan Mbyunba (St Benedict’s College), 21 Ruhan Viviers (Helpmekaar), 22 Mohau Mohlaheli (Jeppe High School for Boys), 23 Ayanda Tomile (St Benedicts).

Academy Week XV: 15 C Stadler (Florida), 14 Wonga Matubatuba (Parktown Boys’ High), 13 Juandre Breytenbach (Monument), 12 Aron Visser (St Benedict’s College), 11 Cha Deiker (Dinamika), 10 Tristan Oosthuizen (Helpmekaar), 9 Zian Coetzee (Monument), 8 Ben Clarke (Helpmekaar), 7 Lehan du Toit (Helpmekaar), 6 Vuyani Nqaba (Jeppe High School for Boys), 5 Emmanuel Tshituka (Northcliff), 4 Humphries du Randt (Monument), 3 Ayuk Bebot (Fourways), 2 AJ Meyer (Marais Viljoen), 1 Dylan Cutter (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 16 Sizwe Nkosi (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 17 Kyle Everton (Jeppe High School for Boys), 18 Damain Calitz (Florida), 19 Juandre Labuschagne (Linden), 20 Ziyanda Msipha (King Edward VII), 21 Luke Bramhall (King Edward VII), 22 Jonathan Viljoen (Monument), 23 Junaid Slaffa (NHS).

U.16 Grant Khomo Week: 15 Munashe Chaitezwi (St Stithian’s College), 14 Gugu Ndaba (Parktown Boys’ High), 13 Henco van Wyk (Monument), 12 Tiaan Botes (Helpmekaar), 11 Kathlego Maloka (Jeppe High School for Boys), 10 Bismarck Olivier (St John’s College), 9 Aiden Roberts (Monument), 8 Izan Esterhuizen (Monument), 7 Lifa Jambane (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 6 Xander van der Westhuizen (Monument), 5 Cameron van Niekerk (Helpmekaar), 4 Liam Scott (Jeppe High School for Boys), 3 Sibusiso Shongwe (Jeppe High School for Boys), 2 Maxwell Motuang (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 1 Dehan Niemand (Monument), 16 Delmar Degenaar (Monument), 17 Demos Mbauya (St Stithian’s College), 18 Ntokoza Dlamini (St John’s College), 19 Ocean Tshimbalanga, 20 Joseph Iye (King Edward VII), 21 Kabelo Mokethi (Jeppe High School for Boys), 22 Gareth Louw (Jeppe High School for Boys), 23 Hugo Monteiro (Jeppe High School for Boys).

For free daily local news in the south, visit our sister newspapers Alberton RecordComaro ChronicleSouthern Courier and Get it Joburg South Magazine.

Remember to visit our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages. You can also email our offices on [email protected][email protected] or [email protected]

Add us on WhatsApp today! Alberton Record: 060 644 5264 Comaro Chronicle: 079 427 8074 and Southern Courier: 079 404 5789.

Annette van Schalkwyk

Latest News