Equus awards nominations

SEASON AWARDS: The Equus Awards nominations were announced and the finalists will be awarded for their efforts during the 2016/2017 season. Photo: Annette van Schalkwyk

THE Equus Awards nominations were announced by the voting panel. The Equus Awards ceremony will take place on August 15, at Emperors Palace.

The voting panel consists of Andrew Harrison, Matthew Lips, Jason Dedekind, Roger Smith, Michael Clower and Racing Association chairman Larry Wainstein as non-voting chairperson.

The nominations are:

Champion Two-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Eyes Wide Open, Mustaaqeem, Sand And Sea.

Champion Two-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Brave Mary, Lady In Black.

Champion Three-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Al Sahem, Edict Of Nantes, Heavenly Blue, William Longsword.

Champion Three-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Just Sensual, Lady Of The House.

Champion Older Male – distance immaterial: Captain America, Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron.

Champion Older Filly/Mare – distance immaterial: Bela-Bela, Carry On Alice, Nightingale, Nother Russia.

Champion Sprinter – (1 000m -1 200m; age/gender immaterial): Bull Valley, Carry On Alice, Rafeef.

Champion Miler – (1 400m -1 600m; age/gender immaterial): Bela-Bela, Captain America, Legal Eagle, William Longsword.

Champion Middle Distance – (1 800m -2 200m; age/gender immaterial): Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron.

Champion Stayer – (2 400m and up; age/gender immaterial): Al Sahem, Hermoso Mundo

For free daily local news in the south, visit our sister newspapers Alberton RecordComaro ChronicleSouthern Courier and Get it Joburg South Magazine.

Remember to visit our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages. You can also email our offices on [email protected][email protected] or [email protected]

Add us on WhatsApp today! Alberton Record: 060 644 5264 Comaro Chronicle: 079 427 8074 and Southern Courier: 079 404 5789.

Annette van Schalkwyk

Latest News