SAMA 2018 winners and highlights

The event, which took place on Saturday, 2 June was hosted by popular choreographer, TV host and Reality TV star Somizi Mhlongo, radio presenter Dineo Ranaka and comedian Mpho Popps.

R&B singer Shekhinah was the most nominated artist of the night and scooped up three gongs for the Best New Comer, Best Female Artist and Best Album of the Year.

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients this year were the late hitmaker Spokes H, Steve Kekana and Mbongeni Ngema while Shashika Mooruth received the International Achiever Award.

President Cyril Ramaphosa was a special guest at the event and gave a speech about the sound of a generation.

Hilarious moments captured on Twitter:


Here is the full list of this year’s SAMA winners:

  • Newcomer of the Year: Shekhinah for ‘Rose Gold’
  • Male Artist of the Year: Prince Kaybee for ‘I am Music’
  • Female Artist of the Year: Shekhinah for ‘Rose Gold’
  • Duo or Group of the Year: Mafikizolo for ‘20’
  • Album of the Year: ‘Rose Gold’ by Shekhinah
  • SAMRO Highest Airplay Composer’s Award: Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto for ‘Akanamali’ composed by Sanele “Sun-El Musician” Sithole
  • CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer’s Award: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ composed by Timothy Bambelela Myeni
  • Best Selling Digital Artist of the Year: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’
  • SAMPRA Highest Airplay Song of the Year: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto
  • Best Selling DVD of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration
  • Best Selling Album of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Mbongeni Ngema, Adv Steve Kekana , Letona “Spokes H” Hlatshwayo Spokes
  • International Achievement Award: Shashika Mooruth
  • Best Rock Album: ‘Selfmedikasie’ by Fokofpolisiekar
  • Best Pop Album: ‘The Beautiful Madness’ by TRESOR
  • Beste Pop Album: ‘Laat Die Dansvloer Brand’ by Kurt Darren
  • Best Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Symphonic Soweto’ by Wouter Kellerman and the Soweto Gospel Choir
  • Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album: ‘Skepe’ by Jo Black
  • Best African Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Ilanga’ by Siseko Pame
  • Best Alternative Music Album: ‘Mangaliso’ by Bongeziwe Mabandla
  • Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album: ‘Relationships’ by Afrotraction
  • Best Hip Hop Album: ‘Yellow’ by Shane Eagle
  • Best Kwaito Album: ‘Highly Flavoured’ by Busiswa
  • Best Dance Album: ‘King Zamar’ by Lady Zamar
  • Best Traditional Faith Music Album: ‘Andile KaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele’ by Andile KaMajola
  • Best Contemporary Faith Music Album: ‘Heaven’s Ways’ by Nqubeko Mbatha
  • Best African Indigenous Gospel Album: ‘Samson Aphi Amandla Akho’ by Vuma Zion
  • Best African Artist Album: ‘The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience’ by Simphiwe Dana
  • Best Traditional Music Album: ‘Jessica Mbangeni Sings IGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg’ by Jessica Mbangeni
  • Best Maskandi Album: ‘6 to 6’ by Abafana Baka Mgqumeni
  • Best Jazz Album: ‘Ikhambi’ by Nduduzo Makhathini
  • Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album: ‘Baroqueswing Vol. III’ by Charl du Plessis Trio
  • Best Afro Pop Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo
  • Best Live Audio Visual Recording / DVD: ‘Red Mic Xperience’ by Donald. Visual recording producer: Robin Kohl
  • Best Collaboration: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto
  • Music Video of the Year: ‘Arumtumtum’ by Rouge. Directed by Alex Fynn
  • Best Produced Album: ‘Late Night People’ by Goldfish. Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole
  • Best Engineered Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo. Produced by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe
  • Remix of the Year: ‘I got you’ by Encore. Remixed by Mobi Dixon


Latest from Alberton Record